The Henry and Phyllis Koffler Prizes


University of Arizona Provost


The Koffler Prizes, established through the generosity of Henry and Phyllis Koffler in 2000, recognize outstanding accomplishment in the areas of teaching; research/scholarship/creative activity; or public service/outreach.


The prize consists of a one-time award of $10,000, a medallion and certificate.

One prize in will be awarded each year. Koffler Prizes will be given in three categories in the following order:

  Year             Award Category
2016 Teaching
2017 Research/Scholarship/Creative Activity
2018 Public Service/Outreach
2019 Research/Scholarship/Creative Activity


Eligibility for the prizes is extended to all persons serving under the conditions of faculty, professional or administrative service.

The prizes are intended to honor individuals who have made major contributions to their fields in at least one of the three categories of the award, with emphasis on originality. The prize for public service/outreach is intended for those whose work has had a significant impact on society. Administrators may be considered if their service to the University has been exceptional.


Nomination packets must include the following materials

  • A letter of nomination signed by any ad hoc group of five individuals to include at least three tenured faculty members or professionals with continuing status. The nomination letter should specify how the nominee meets the criteria for the award and the category (teaching, public service/outreach, or research/scholarship/creative activity) for which the nomination is being made.
  • Current curriculum vitae for the candidate.
  • A personal statement of the candidates’ approach to either teaching, research/scholarship/creative activity or public service/outreach.
  • Documentation of outstanding achievement in the area for which the nomination is made. At least five, but no more than eight supporting letters (from inside or outside the University) should address the nominee’s achievements with regard to this award.

Prize for Research/Scholarship/Creative Activity - 2017 & 2019

Criteria may include, but are not limited to:

  • Evidence of achievements judged to be original, substantive and substantial.
  • Excellence in the nominee’s field or discipline as demonstrated through measures appropriate to the specific field.
  • National or international recognition specific to the field of endeavor (such as invitations to participate in significant national or international activities, awards and prizes, membership in national academies, major exhibitions, research funding based on competition).

Prize for Teaching - 2016

Criteria may include, but are not limited to:

  • Proven excellence in the classroom and/or laboratory as demonstrated by consistently high student evaluation, local or national teaching awards, consistently superior ratings in the teaching area of the annual performance review.
  • Proven success of students as demonstrated by placement into distinguished graduate programs, faculty positions at other institutions, the winning of distinguished competitions or other documented notable achievements in the discipline.
  • National or international recognition of teaching through invitations to present at conferences, use of original teaching materials (textbooks, web-delivered courses, courseware).
  • Prize for Public Service/Outreach - 2018

    Criteria may include, but are not limited to:

  • Proven beneficial impact upon society as demonstrated through significant accomplishments in conducting and implementing outreach policy or practices at the University of Arizona.
  • Proven record of creative scholarship and/or the application of scholarship in non-traditional venues such as the community, the home, the field, providing means to create a better life for Arizonans.
  • Evidence of an innovative outreach program within the discipline, having short- and long-term impacts and creative delivery methods.


Materials are to be submitted via email as a composite PDF file, complete with: the nomination coversheet including page separators identifying each section to the Office of the Provost, Attention: Asya Roberts at

In addition, please submit ONE copy of the entire nomination packet with original signatures and secure the packet with a sturdy clip.  Do not staple or use loose leaf notebooks or three-ring binders.  Materials such as books, reprints, CDs, DVDs or videotapes will not be accepted. 

The nomination cover sheet (fillable PDF) that identifies one person on the nomination team/committee to whom correspondence and/or questions may be directed must also be included in both the composite PDF file and the original. 

Review the nomination packet carefully before submitting to make sure that all of the required material is accurate and included. Packets that are incomplete may be delayed.


Nominations will be reviewed by a university-wide committee. Notification of the award winners will be sent to the individual, the Dean of the College and the nomination contact person in early March. Notification of nominations that were not selected will be sent to the Dean of the College and the contact person or an appropriate senior member of the nominating team.


This award will be recognized at the annual Awards of Distinction Luncheon and Ceremony held in Spring, 2017 in the Student Union Memorial Center to honor the recipients of the University of Arizona highest faculty teaching honors.


By 4:00 PM on Friday, December 1, 2017. 


Please contact: Asya Roberts, 626.0202 or email