University Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching

DATE:      September 17, 2010

T0:           University Community

FROM:      Meredith Hay, Executive Vice President and Provost

SUBJECT: University Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching


It is my pleasure to invite the academic community to nominate colleagues for the University of Arizona annual awards recognizing excellence in teaching. These awards are offered through the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost and the University of Arizona Foundation.

  • University Distinguished Professors
    University Distinguished Professor awards honor faculty who have made sustained contributions of consistent educational excellence and have demonstrated outstanding commitment to undergraduate education.
  • Provost's General Education Teaching Awards
    These awards are given to acknowledge extraordinary quality and creativity in the teaching of general education courses.
  • The Henry and Phyllis Koffler Prizes
    The Koffler Prizes recognize outstanding accomplishment and honor individuals who have made major contributions in their fields with an emphasis on originality.

    One prize will be given each year.  There are three categories of Koffler Prizes which will be award in the following order: in 2011 research/scholarship/creative activity, in 2012 teaching, in 2013 research/scholarship/creative activity and in 2014 public service/outreach. 

  • The University of Arizona Foundation Leicester and Kathryn Sherrill Creative Teaching Award
    The Sherrill Creative Teaching Award recognizes excellence in the art of teaching at all levels, with emphasis on teaching at the undergraduate level.  

The success of our university awards program relies on receiving nominations from the faculty for our colleagues who deserve recognition for their expertise in teaching.