University of Arizona Foundation Leicester and Kathryn Sherrill Creative Teaching Award


University of Arizona Foundation


This award recognizes excellence in the art of teaching at all levels, but the Foundation places particular emphasis on teaching at the undergraduate level.


One $2,500 award and the placement of a plaque in the Donna Swaim Honors Lounge in the Student Union Memorial Center.


Unusually outstanding teaching methodologies; a demonstrated effort to ensure the quality of students' learning experiences; and consistently high scholarly standard in both rigor and currency of course content.

Eligible candidates are tenured, tenure-eligible, and multi-year career-track faculty who have a long-standing association (five years) with the University.

Candidates may be nominated by students, parents, faculty, department heads or deans.


Nomination packages must include:

  • A letter of nomination
  • Nominee's current curriculum vitae
  • Statement of teaching philosophy (2-4 pages)
  • Teaching documentation including descriptions of teaching methods and techniques (2-4 pages)
  • Evaluation summaries from students across courses for the past three years (TCE questions on overall teaching and teaching effectiveness)
  • Letters of recommendation from students (maximum of 6)
  • Letters of recommendations from peers and relevant administrators (maximum of 3)

The nomination letter and letters of recommendation should highlight the nominee's creative and innovative contributions to teaching.


Materials are to be submitted via UA Competition Space.

Review the nomination packet carefully before submitting to make sure that all of the required material is accurate and included. Packets that are incomplete may be delayed.


The nomination packet should be sent to the college deans. The dean will submit ranked nominations from their college for review by a university-wide committee. The committee will not see the dean's ranking until members convene to review the nominations.

Notification of the award winners will be sent to the individual, the dean of the college and the nomination contact person in early March. Notification of nominations that were not selected will be sent to the dean of the college and the contact person or an appropriate senior member of the nominating team.


This award will be recognized at the annual Awards of Distinction Luncheon and Ceremony held in Spring at the Student Union Memorial Center to honor the recipients of the University of Arizona highest faculty teaching honors.


The deadline for the Leicester and Kathryn Sherrill Creative Teaching Award applications is 4:00 PM on Monday, December 2, 2019. UA Competition Space will not accept applications after the 4:00 p.m. deadline.

All awardees will be selected in 2020.


Please contact: Asya Roberts, 626-0202,